Tags

,

By Ala’ Alrababa’h (Twitter: @a_alrababah)

I’m working at the Middle East Institute this summer.  As part of my job, I’ll be covering events in Washington, D.C. and publishing about them at another blog, peacefare.net

In my first post, I covered an event on the censorship of Bahraini media.  Here’s a blurb:

When protests broke out in 2011, the Bahraini government launched a violent campaign against journalists. According to Alwadi, the government targeted more than 135 journalists and media personnel during the first year of protests. Some were tortured and killed.  More went into jail. Alwadi herself was detained before fleeing to the United States. Those who survived detention were often fired or forced into hiding. Ali Abdulemam, a famous Bahraini blogger who was sentenced to 15 years in prison, went into hiding after the protests. Abdulemam surfaced in London only last month, after two years of hiding.

You can read the full article here.  In the future, I won’t be posting about each article in Ghurbeh.  You can follow peacefare.net or follow me on twitter for future posts.  In the meantime, I promise not to ignore Ghurbeh.

